圣诞大餐和伯明翰的圣诞市场 (Christmas Dinners and Birmingham)

我已经不记得狄更斯《A Christmas Dinner》里的细节了,书里大量描述了维多利亚时期英国人是如何准备圣诞晚餐来庆祝圣诞节的。写这部短篇的时候狄更斯只有22岁,这部短篇成为狄更斯后来创作名著《圣诞颂歌》(Christmas Carol)的基础。

圣诞节对我来说并未有特别的意义,每年我也只是和老公选一家有特色的餐馆去享用一顿丰盛的晚餐,倒是充分体现了中国人“民以食为天”的主旨。今年倘若说有什么不同,就是吃的次数增加了。见朋友、见亲戚,吃了个不亦乐乎~~

莱斯特(Leicester)朋友的圣诞家宴

同去年一样,今年被在莱斯特(Leicester)的朋友叫去她家吃圣诞晚餐。朋友是马来华人,所以在她那里看到的黄皮肤却也说着英语。席间,谈论起读的书,朋友突然问了我一句:那书是叫《水浒传》?还是《水许传》?出国这十年接触了太多不同文化背景的人,所以我很理解她这并非玩笑的问题。倘若退回十年我可能真要被这种问题给雷死!虽然她们在马来西亚说自己是华人,但很多人却从未去过中国。我在朋友家接触了几个马来华人,有一个在英国30年,连自己的中文名字都不会写。

我在英国这八年时刻感受着中西文化的撞击,一直在想这些马来华人他们住在英国又是如何看待自己的国籍和背景呢?她们到底是马来人?中国人?还是已把自己当做英国人呢?

伯明翰的圣诞晚餐(中式)

我一直为伯明翰没有一家象样的中餐馆感到惋惜。去了伯明翰N次,在伯明翰也吃了N次饭。总觉得唐人街上的中餐馆提供的饭菜,个个都好似香港的茶餐厅或者大排档。那菜单一看都是叉烧饭、煲仔饭之类的。这是我夏天的时候去点的泰式海鲜面。超辣,没想到在英国还能吃到这么辣的面!食物还都不错,但是吃饭的环境着实一般,倘若想要商务请人吃饭就差了许多。

这次老公的弟弟的女朋友选了一家中餐馆-The Henry’s(http://www.henrysrestaurant.co.uk/)。因为以前她选过一家中餐馆让我大倒了一番胃口(见前文:伯明翰之行)。这次本没报什么希望的,谁知道发现餐馆环境超好,做出的菜味道也好,难得中国人开得餐馆竟然每盘菜的装饰也做足了功夫。强烈推荐一下!:)虽然以粤式风格为主,但是中文菜谱上也有很多北方菜和四川菜。我点得煎酿三宝,老公弟弟说他们是不知道也不会点的。竟然连那盘蒜蓉空心菜都被吃了个精光。看样子英国人也并非不吃蔬菜,只是不会做罢了。

象往年一样,老公今年选了位于伯明翰的一家米其林餐馆:The Simpsons(http://www.simpsonsrestaurant.co.uk)。餐厅是一座乔治亚时期的建筑。

我和老公去得早,那天餐馆竟然全都坐满了。我们还是圣诞节头几天去的。如果是圣诞节那天肯定又是订桌难。

刚被领到餐桌旁,侍应生便奉送了这道餐前汤。刚端上来的时候我心下觉得几分好笑。这么大的一个碗,侍应生就舀了两、三汤匙的汤在里面。不过细尝一下才越发显出精致。几颗松籽、一小块奶酪,细品之下竟然有七、八种不同的原料,每一款原料都有自己特殊的味道。却又搭配得相得益彰。

即使连面包也是四种不同的口味,新鲜出炉,松软可口。

我的头盘:Scallop ravioli, boc choy, sesame seeds, lemon grass and ginger

老公的头盘:Fillet of halibut, burnt sweetheart cabbage, watercress and dill

我的主菜:Roasted guinea fowl, pastilla of confit leg, pomegranate, aromatic couscous, date & lemon purée, cumin sauce

我还是第一次见到把石榴放入菜中的,竟然连石榴籽都是温软的,我还在想石榴难不成是做熟的? 的确,但是却又保留了新鲜石榴的口感。一道菜里面各式味道却有七、八种。细细体味,每种相搭配却又是另一番滋味。我特意拍了一张吃的时候的照片。

老公的主菜:Loin of Balmoral venison, broccoli purée, sweed, walnuts, blueberries,  juniper sauce

我是第一次领教在菜中运用水果、干果的,竟然有意想不到的口感和味道。

主餐完毕,餐馆赠送的一款甜品:Apple Crumble ,但与英国传统的Apple Crumble又有其不同之处,内似有法国特有的奶酪香。

老公的餐后甜品:A selection of pasteurised & un-pasteruised English and Continental cheeses

我的甜品:Chocolate and parline tart, chantily, mandarin and lemon thyme sorbet

老公为我拍的照片。可以看到餐厅里已经全都坐满了。

 突然间看到桌子上有一张卡片,原来是伯明翰的慈善组织(St.Basils)同餐厅合作,凡是在这里吃饭,每天每张桌子都会自动捐给慈善组织1镑用于帮助伯明翰无家可归的人。老公并不知道,月初因为支持朋友公司的活动,我已经做了一回赞助!这瞬间竟然让我想到朋友的公司这几年来年年为这慈善组织所做的一切,让我心生敬意。

最后餐馆附送的糖果,我根本早已吃不下了。

伯明翰为了迎接圣诞节,特别搞了一个德国法兰克福圣诞市场,上百个摊位。我以前在其他城市见过类似的市场,不过象这么大规模的还是头一回见。

夏天的时候,曾经去伯明翰的运河边拍了几张照片。现在一起奉上。记得当时看到那个高跟鞋的花架时,不自觉地竟想到了Summer,想象她会不会喜欢这样的高跟鞋呢?^-^

===============================================================================================

Christmas Dinners and Birmingham

Before I came toEurope, all I knew about Christmas was from books. When I was a child, I read “The Little Match Girl”, which was my first impression of Christmas. Roast goose, Christmas tree and joy all belong to rich people, whereas cold, hunger, loneliness and death are for the ordinary people.

 

When I read Dickens’ – A Christmas Dinner, I can’t remember the details now, but still remember how Victorian people prepared a Christmas dinner. At that time in my mind that English should all dress like in the book and eat in that manner. Many years later, when I came toEngland, I realized that mince pie was translated into Chinese – 肉馅饼(minced meat pie)is completely wrong. Actually there is no meat in the mince pie since Victorian time. The filling is preserved fruit. No matter how much you know about a country unless you living in that country, you would not notice how much of what you know is wrong.

 

After I came toEuropeas a student, Christmas was more a holiday than a festival. I did enjoy seeing the lights on the Christmas tree flashing from windows when I passed by each house. I liked to see all family members were sitting in the cozy lounge chatting and laughing. The flames of the fireplace warmed up the whole house, also warmed my heart when I passed the house. When I passed by these houses with my friends, we always dreamed one day that we could have a home like that. I could open gifts with my kids under a Christmas tree.

 

In reality, there is no decoration in my house apart from a Christmas tree. T keeps telling me that Christmas is for children. I had been invited by a friend inLeicesterto her home for a Christmas celebration. Her house is not big, but warm and cozy. I like the atmosphere there – flashing lights in the garden, decorated Christmas tree, windows and ceiling.  

 

Dining in Birmingham (Chinese Restaurant)

 

After I had been so many times inBirmingham, I always think it is pity that I can not find a descent Chinese restaurant in such a big and diversified city. There are lots of Chinese restaurants aroundChinaTowninBirmingham. However the food there is like from noodle shop in Hong Kong or from the street food vendors inAsia. It is suitable to eat there with intimate friends after shopping, but it is not suitable for business purpose. Maybe this country does not need to entertain customers anymore, not like inChina, at least I do not feel it necessary. This photo was taken in summer when I had in a Chinese restaurant inChinaTown– Thai style seafood noodles.

 

Before Christmas, we met T’s half-brother and his partner for dinner one night inBirmingham. Two years ago, his partner chose Wongs inBirmingham, which had been voted for Top 20 Chinese restaurants inBritain– must be English locals voted. I was the only Chinese there and there was no menu in Chinese in the restaurant. The food was awful. This time when she chose two Chinese restaurants and sent the web links to T, we made final decision to meet in The Henry’s. To my surprise it is a very good restaurant. It is the best I had so far inBirmingham.

 

It is a mainly Cantonese restaurant, however if you read their Chinese menu that you will see they also provide many dishes from northernChinaandSichuanstyle. I ordered three dishes from Chinese menu – Tofu,Sichuanstyle chicken and stir-fried green vegetable. T’s brother and his partner enjoyed very well. They said that they would never order something like these. Even stir-fried green vegetable was completely finished. I always think English do not like vegetables.

 

 

Dining in Birmingham (The Simpsons)

 

Same as every year, T and I chose a Michelin star restaurant to have our Christmas dinner – actually we always have it before Christmas. This time T chose The Simpsons in Birmingham. Simpsons at Edgbaston is converted from a Grade II-listed Georgian building with a Victorian Interior.
When we arrived, we were shown into a luxuriously-upholstered lounge to enjoy olives and an aperitif before being shown to our table. I did not have a chance to take a photo here as it was completely full.

 

This is the place where we had our dinner. We started early around 7.00pm. Later you will see from the photos it was also fully occupied.

 

This is the soup provided by the restaurant.

 

Bread is made fresh everyday and served piping hot. An impressive array of bread was brought to us in a basket. These were all excellent with lovely fluffy interior and the right amount of seasoning. Ten years ago when I first came toEurope, T told me the best dish for him is bread and butter. I was laughing in my mind. Ten years after I have the same conclusion now. Has my taste changed?

 

My starter – Scallop ravioli, boc choy, sesame seeds, lemon grass and ginger.

 

T’s starter – Fillet of halibut, burnt sweetheart cabbage, watercress and dill.

 

My main course – Roasted guinea fowl, pastilla of confit leg, pomegranate, aromatic couscous, date & lemon purée, cumin sauce

 

T’s main course – Loin of Balmoral venison, broccoli purée, sweed, walnuts, blueberries,  juniper sauce.

 

Before we ordered dessert, this apple crumble was provided by the restaurant.

 

T’s dessert – A selection of pasteurised & un-pasteruised English and Continental cheeses

 

My dessert – Chocolate and parline tart, chantily, mandarin and lemon thyme sorbet.

 

T took this photo for me in the restaurant.

 

Inadvertently, a small card on the dinning table attracted my attention. I picked it up and read it – it is cooperation between restaurant and the charity – every table will donate £1 for the chairty. I played with the card while my mind was floating to something else.

 

The last dessert was a selection of multi-flavoured macaroons, chocolates and sweet.

 

The surroundings were beautiful. The taste of food was delicate and amazing. It uses various ingredients that you will never think to use in cooking and even mixture with fruit. The service was impeccable. One of the dining areas is the veranda, just outside the room where we are dining. The veranda flooring itself is laid with limestone with glass panels used as the roof, partially covered with blinds, to create a greenhouse effect, allowing natural sunlight to flood in. Martin told me that he had dinner on the veranda. I believe that the restaurant would be absolutely stunning during summer, which makes me thinking about to bring T here again for his next year’s birthday.

As usual we using T’s points and stayed in Hyatt Hotel overnight. We can see plane take off at the airport from the room window when it is clear and sunny day. Every time when T and I come toBirminghamto visit his mother we live here. I never had the chance to touring around. This year we had the chance to look around the canal which I had been thinking of for several years.

 

When I saw this high-heel shoe, I remembered Summer told me that any shoes over10cmcould arise her desire to buy.

 

There are still many places I want to see inBirmingham-Aston Hall, back to backs, the place where T was born, worked and lived before. The place his father was teaching before. The last but not the least is to watch a football match!

 

Next day T and I shopped around and I took the chance to see the German Christmas market. I saw one before inBath, but the size was much smaller.

 

T never knows what he should buy for me as Christmas gift. I wrote a list of things that I will buy for him. Then he asked me to prepare another list for myself. When I wrote the list, I had a feeling like shopping grocery in the supermarket. I bought most items myself in the end – bought the books and DVDs, which I wanted to buy for a while.

 

I told T the rumor that the end of the world will be on 21st of December in 2012. T was so happy to hear that and said finally there is no need to buy Christmas gift for me and no need to put up the Christmas tree! 😉

 

This entry was posted in 点滴生活. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to 圣诞大餐和伯明翰的圣诞市场 (Christmas Dinners and Birmingham)

  1. 凤舞旷宇 says:

    6:我想把圣诞市场的那些照片按你的方法做成Slides的,结果不知道为什么我试了N次都不成啊。:(

    • 6 says:

      我去再试了一下。WP上slides又有变化。现在的步骤比以前容易。
      1。在博客编辑框上方点upload/insert,跳出上传图片的窗口
      2。把要用的照片们拖到窗口中。上传完成后,窗口底部出现save all changes。 点击它。
      3。跳出新窗口。在此窗口的最下方有两个选项:insert gallery, insert slide show。选择insert slide show。(如果看不到这个选项,有可能是屏幕大小的限制。注意挪一下滚动条)
      就好了。界面会自动跳回你的编辑博客窗口。这时你看不到幻灯片,只看到文字如下[slide show]。点击预览看效果。或者直接发表后看。
      你再试试,如果还不行,那也许是当前主题不支持。建议你换一个主题。

      • 6 says:

        还有。目前WP的相片和slide show不能分家。如果你加入slide show,此篇博文引用的所有照片都会进入slide show。

      • 凤舞旷宇 says:

        6:我第一次按你说的做的时候,就出来文字的[Slide show]了,只是没想到需要预览看效果才行。汗~~就象你说的,这相片和Slide Show不能分家。我也不想把这20-30张照片全放Slide啊?这WP还是有待提高。而且我最近也看不到大家更新了。也不知道是不是只有我有这问题,还是大家都一样?

  2. WENDY says:

    马卡隆上桌还说吃不下, 你太故意了吧. 那家米其林餐厅墙上的画好美哦. 每道菜的摆盘也很美, 见识了, 虽然, 连味道都闻不到. 新年快乐, 宏图大!

  3. 感谢美丽的凤姑娘, 圣殿大餐之余不忘分享,让我们在近万里外,想象烤炖鸡牛和水果搭配的味道。那米芝林餐厅有档次的,好在道数多,道数少的话,那一点点,我肯定吃不饱的。英国的圣诞气氛,让人回到童话和纯真。

    那些‘中餐’,看上去好像连茶餐厅也不如。在外国和英国的‘中餐厅’,以蒙骗老外混日子,照理说,那里口味刁钻的老中也很多呀。好在,中餐馆都比较便宜。

    马来西亚的华人,语言能力都很强,会广东话、闽南话、马来话、国语和英语。扎根英国的时间也比较长久。

    那个集市后面,是伯明翰的市政厅吧?我对这个城市略有印象。跨过了迪更斯烟雾缭绕的早期工业社会时代,撇开那些大城市里的印巴老黑,英国毕竟是个平和传统、田园文明的绅士社会。

  4. 凤舞旷宇 says:

    Charlie教授:我觉得在英国的中国人真的很可怜啊。估计除了住在伦敦和曼城的中国人可以吃到正宗的中国菜,其他地方的就有点儿惨了。不过我最近在我住的镇上发现了一家很地道的中餐馆,真是狂喜啊~~
    是啊,马来西亚的华人,特别要在马来西亚听他们之间的谈话,感觉太牛了。四,五种语言全部掺杂在一起同时说,我听2-3分钟后就晕了!感觉比听英语还困难!:)
    我这篇没写完呢,昨天晚上就给发出去了。我少贴了几张夏天去伯明翰时候拍的照片。我这一期里面的照片都是伯明翰的精华部分。其实伯明翰大部分地方已被印巴人所占领。英国宁静的地方都在乡村。越是在Village的地方,房价越贵,可大多中国人都奈不住这份寂寞。

  5. 依云 says:

    火烧屁股的人在看书的时候还是不能不说一句:周一考试,你还在拿这样的东西诱惑我。

    圣诞市场:希望有一年你能来奥地利过圣诞节,圣诞市场我可以领着你转个遍,丰富的很,保证要你眼花缭乱。

    圣诞大餐:你们吃的那家餐厅看着的确不错,不过这些样式咱家基本上多能自己鼓捣出来,所以你们来, 可以在家里享受同样的头盘,主盘和餐后甜点,这牛我还真不是吹得,你就直接把那餐费当作路费好了。

    中餐:我们两个联手做的话,觉得会比那中餐馆的饭菜不差,你说呢?今天我愣是把一公斤的五香牛肉给篡改成了这里的牛肉汤菜,人家照样没有吃出来。

    汇报完毕, 我还要考试学习去了。

    • 凤舞旷宇 says:

      依云:我太感动啦~~都火烧屁股的时候还能想着我。感动。。
      我怕冷,估计奥地利的冬天我受不了,所以圣诞市场可以暂时放一放。不过我倒真很想去奥地利看看。今年6-7月份怎么样?告诉我你什么时候空闲我就决定今年成行啦!:)
      西餐我可不会做,中餐倒是能多少对付些。所以我一定要挑你空闲的时候去奥地利,这样我就不愁吃了,哈哈。
      祝你周一考试顺利!

  6. 依云 says:

    这个要计划。现在没有时间说。

  7. 后面又看了几张伯明翰的照片,这些地方,运河缭绕,都是工业革命时候的遗产。

    热烈欢迎凤姑娘到前殖民小岛,看看中国劳动人民是如何生活的。我2月24-29日不在香港。其余时间方便。希望带你爬山看海。email me at: bscqx@cityu.edu.hk

  8. Stephanie says:

    看来Ellen的圣诞新年过得很是有滋有味,尽管才过了大吃大喝的节日,还是让我看来流口水。

    2012快乐!

  9. W J says:

    圣诞节对于我来说就是放假休息,我俩这次的圣诞节过得更加轻松、简单。

  10. dengaiwu says:

    民以食为天。看的我哈喇子直流啊!
    非洲的中餐馆也越来越多。这两天在坦桑,朋友们领我去了好几家四川人在达累斯萨拉姆开的餐馆,别说,做的菜还真地道。
    英国我还没去过,特喜欢看你贴的照片,让我得以欣赏那里英式风格十足秀丽的景色。

    • 凤舞旷宇 says:

      Dengaiwu:一直想去非洲看看呢,都没有机会。没想到中国人真是遍布五大洲。竟然可以在非洲都能吃到地道的川菜!呵呵。我有个在非洲的朋友曾说过英国这地方比她住的非洲还非洲。(她当然是指那时候我一直住在英国乡村,所以很多中国的蔬菜都买不到的,地道的中国菜也是吃不上的。所以那时候我是在家苦练厨技!^-^)

      • dengaiwu says:

        非洲的确很值得一游。2007年我第一次来坦桑时利用周末工作间隙我和朋友曾去过一次SAFARI,虽没看到动物大迁徙的壮观场景,但在辽阔草原与动物们亲密接触倒也感触很深,去了大草原你越发觉得保护自然、爱护自然责无旁贷。

        我倒是一直盼望能去爬乞力马扎罗山,昨天在我住的酒店遇到一位四川妹子,她只身一人前往乞力马扎罗花了六天时间终于爬上了山顶,并欣赏到了非洲最高峰上真正“月满非洲”的壮丽景观。她说那美只能意会无法言传。。。

      • 凤舞旷宇 says:

        dengaiwu:被你说的很是心动。:)去年BBC有4期节目是关于中国人在非洲的,很有意思。应该在Youtube上可以看到。The Chinese are coming. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ft_2FhTgwlI
        我也在想,趁着朋友在那边应该过去看看。

  11. Summer says:

    大吃大喝大玩,假期过得很理想嘛。全套啊,你最后那几口还能往下走吗?我一般就留在喉咙里,没地方去了。这家餐馆的装饰是我的那杯茶啊。
    你身上那件黑裙子很漂亮,背后那件皮草真没看出来你会买,改走奢华风了啊? :)
    找了老半天才看到那只鞋,给个特写嘛。10厘米以上都有可能会入我的法眼。:D

    • 凤舞旷宇 says:

      Summer:这是圣诞节前了,我圣诞节哪有好日子过啊。都忙晕了!身上那黑裙子是Zara家的啊。:)我那假皮草当年买来是为了结婚的时候初春乍暖还寒的时候配旗袍的。呵呵。放心好了,这鞋绝对在10厘米以上,鞋跟都比我高了。^-^

  12. Nancy says:

    美食美图,你的圣诞看来也过得超级充实哦 :)

    喜欢米其林里你穿的小黑裙,呵呵,要是有披皮草的照片就更好了。

    圣诞市场倒是和我们在罗马见的比较像,呵呵 。

  13. Summer says:

    Come on Skype now! Got news for you! 😀

  14. helen says:

    2012快乐! 深有同感,这里很多中国蔬菜买不到, 带了些菜种子来这边种也长不好, 想吃空心菜,苦瓜,芥蓝………

  15. helen says:

    真的? 看来我要再擦亮眼睛好好找找,要是有的话我就有口福了。我在巴斯的中国店都没找到过,就看到有大白菜和上海青。

    • 凤舞旷宇 says:

      Helen:Bath啊?太小了点儿。你得去Bristol的中国店里找。Bath我住在那边的时候,都没有中国店的,只有一个亚洲人开得店,不知道是泰国人,还是菲律宾人开的。

  16. helen says:

    谢谢回复! 在巴斯火车站边上,不久前开了一家中国超市,但是品种也不多。另外就是巴斯大学里有一家。Bristol 有点远了。

  17. 6 says:

    马上就春节了,你这里还是圣诞餐呢!:)
    过年好!

  18. Pingback: 失之毫厘,谬以千里 | 凤舞旷宇's space

  19. Madison says:

    Hi there! I just wish to give you a huge thumbs up for your
    excellent information you have got here on this post.
    I will be returning to your blog for more soon.

  20. Pingback: 2012圣诞大餐和老公的生日宴 | 凤舞旷宇's space

Leave a comment